The conference awards

  • The Michael L. Michelsen Award - previously called Distinguished Lecture on Thermodynamics and Transport Properties and re-named in recognition of its second laureate, the distinguished Professor Michael L. Michelsen (Denmark) - aims to honour a senior member of the community that is active in a European institution. This award is given by the Working Party on Thermodynamics and Transport Properties (WP TTP) under the auspices of the EFCE (European Federation of Chemical Engineers). The awardee will give a talk at the opening Ceremony and recevied an award sponsored by Fluid Phase Equilibria- an Elsevier Journal.
    We are happy to announce that the 2024 Awardee is Prof. Jean-Noel JAUBERT. Read the news in the EFCE website.
  • The Helmut Knapp poster award . The ESAT will award the best PhD-student poster for the ESAT 2024 in Edinburgh. The Helmut Knapp Poster Award aims to support young talents and is awarded to the best poster presentation of a young researcher. It is dedicated to the founder of ESAT Helmut Knapp, who initiated the first ESAT in 1974. To be nominated, one must be a PhD student and attend the conference. Only one person per research group can be nominated. This year the three prizes (£ 300 each) are kindly sponsored by CCP5++ Collaborative Computational Project 
    To be nominated please send an email to with the subject "Nomination for Helmut Knapp award" containing following documents:
    • Short CV
    •  Recommendation from the supervisor
    •  The presented poster
    • All documents must be sent as a .pdf-file.
    • The application deadline is the 1st June 2024.
    • The Jury of the award will  discuss briefly the work with each candidate during the poster session
    • The Knapp Award will be presented during the conference dinner.
Prof. Jaubert